Lasang Pinoy 15: Recycled, Reloaded! [CHEESY PAN DE MENUDO]

Standard

Ok, now that I’m finally over my morning sickness stage, dreaming of tasty food is back in my repertoire of things to do when my mind is not preoccupied with office work. I’m back to looking forward to lunch and dinner, or what’s good to eat for merienda, not to mention, I’ve attempted cooking again! A task I normally let my husband lovingly do if he’s not tired, or my daughter’s yaya who after nearly two years learned a few edible tricks.

This time around, too, I kinda promised myself to document my experiments in the kitchen and continue this blog I started last year after joininmg two LP rounds . . . Well, hopefully . . .

When Mang Mike told me about Lasang Pinoy 15’s theme, I got excited because I have a few ideas flashing in my head. However to those who are not familiar with Filipino food, I hope you will not think, we are being un-hygienic or anything because they are called “leftovers”, these are simply untouched, unspoiled, properly stored food that we did not manage to finish during a feast or dinner. These are Filipino dishes like menudo, or embutido, or adobo that just tastes so much better the day after that, re-inventing them is such a good idea!

Filipinos are known to be hospitable people who love to serve excessive food even for small gatherings. Whether from a wealthy or a modest household, when we are expecting guests, we serve as much food as we can, hence the left-over!

My entry for LP 15 is something really simple. It is best for menudo, adobo or chicken pastel. Served in our famous pan de sal, this makes a good idea for breakfast or merienda (snack)!

Cheesy Pan De Menudo

To make this delish treat, you will need some leftover ulam (viand) from a dinner or lunch. In this case, it’s leftover menudo we had the other night! Then take some pan de sal (salt bread), carve out the top, put a scoop of menudo on the carved top and put a blob of spreadable cheese on top. Put in an oven oven toater for about two minutes or until pan de sal is crispy golden brown and cheese has melted.

Lasang Pinoy, which could mean ‘tastes of something Filipino’ or short for ‘the Filipino taste’ is a monthly food blogging event to promote Filipino food. It is a product of e-mail brainstorming sessions of several Filipino food bloggers who thought it was time for a Filipino event in the tradition of Is My Blog Burning. The blogger organisers of Lasang Pinoy and participants strive to make the events reflective of Filipino culture.

 

Leave a Reply

